Melanie C Announces New Album


Melanie C will release her stunning seventh album ‘Version of Me’ on her own Red Girl Records label via Absolute October 21st.

Working with longtime co-writers Peter Vettese and Adam Argyle, alongside the young south London production duo Sons Of Sonix (Stormzy, Tinie Tempah, Wretch 32 and Ariana Grande), Melanie has made the freshest, most contemporary-sounding album of her career.

“I wanted to make an album that I would listen to now,” says Melanie. “I’m not a leftfield artist, I never will be. I write pop songs, but my aim this time was to approach every aspect of them differently, to be more creative with structure and sounds. Whatever felt right, I went with.”

‘Version of Me’ was recorded in L.A. and London and is a richly textured, lushly atmospheric, deeply personal album which lays bare her life over beats, shimmering synths, striking percussion and strings. It’s Melanie as you’ve always known her – adventurous, honest, infectiously pop – but as you’ve never heard her before.

The funky first single ‘Anymore’ impacts October 21st and sits alongside other album highlights including the synth-heavy ‘Dear Life’, the glorious fusion of R&B and house beats on ‘Room For Love’, the strings-drenched title track and the brutal album closer ‘Blame’.

Since going solo back in 1999, Melanie C has enjoyed 2 number 1 singles, 6 Top 10 singles and over 3 million album sales. Self-starter Melanie C launched her own label, Red Girl Records in 2004 and has released four albums to date including 2005’s ‘Beautiful Intentions’, 2007’s ‘This Time’, 2011’s ‘The Sea’ and 2012’s ‘Stages’.

‘Version of Me’ full tracklisting:

  1. Dear Life
  2. Escalator
  3. Anymore
  4. Something For the Fire
  5. Version of Me
  6. Numb
  7. Room For Love
  8. Unravelling
  9. Loving You Better
  10. Our History
  11. Blame

Stay tuned for a live dates to be announced shortly.